I worked 32 hours a week and was treated like a MINION.

I was working for a major production company as a unpaid intern. I worked 32 hours a week and was treated like a minion. To start out with they had about 5 interns of all ages. Two of us were doing maximum hours. The others did a couple hours here and there. There were over 30 assistants and around 10 executives. Each assistant would send you on ridiculous tasks. Drive to the Warner Brothers lot which was about 30 min away. Everything in LA was 30 min away. You received $0.05 per mile which doesn’t help at all and is actually an insult.

One of the assistants had me get her lunch each day when there was a full kitchen with a cook. I later found out from another assistant that we weren’t allowed to pick up food for people. I finally told that assistant that I was told now to get her food and she wanted to know who I found out about that from. We were required to read 3 scripts a week and write coverage on them. That’s okay I guess but the scripts were horrible and a complete waste of time. They would have us do copies and purposely mess with the printer so that it would jam or act up. Some of the task they would purposely give us wrong address or company names so we are aimlessly driving around town. After executives had meetings they would leave the conference room extra messy. If it was too messy the cleaning staff wouldn’t clean and the interns were left to do the dirty work.

In the elevator I was in with a major executive you’ve seen his films because they usually involve top funny comedies that I’m pretty sure everybody has seen. I was made fun of by him multiple times and when he met up with other executives he continue to pick on me making me the subject of his laugh. It’s never a good feeling to be made fun of by a lot of people.

After putting hours of work in I was then fired because they were afraid I would leak information. It’s the first time I had ever been fired in my ENTIRE LIFE. Total waste of time and money because I had to pay for the college credits to take that pointless internship.

Tagged , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “I worked 32 hours a week and was treated like a MINION.

  1. […] “I worked 32 hours a week and was treated like a minion,” one commenter wrote on Intern-Anonymous. “I was then fired because they were afraid I would leak information.” […]

  2. John C. Randolph says:

    So, why are you putting up with this instead of getting a real job?

  3. […] “I worked 32 hours a week and was treated like a minion,” one commenter wrote on Intern-Anonymous. “I was then fired because they were afraid I would leak information.” […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

