My DREAM is to work on film sets.

My dream is to work on film sets, and I needed an internship in order to graduate film school. So I was ecstatic when I found an internship to help out on a feature film shoot. I applied and within a day I got a phone call. I went down to their office and sat down for an interview. It was a gorgeous office, with probably half a dozen people working there. Shooting had already begun on the feature, so I guess they were just looking for people to pickup some of the slack. This interview was slightly odd because they knew they couldn’t pay me, but still asked me what I thought I would get out of it. I replied that I would be getting college credit and suddenly she sounded relieved.

Regardless they decided to bring me on. The location was quite the distance from my house (more than 30 miles) but I didn’t care. I was going to be on a film set. The picture was a period piece and even had some name talent. The crew was great and the actors were great to be around. All in all I had a blast. So, at the end of the day I made sure everything was put away and I headed home.

I was scheduled to go back to the set a couple days later as to work with my school schedule (this negotiation was part of my initial meeting). Come late the second day I get a phone call from the AD with a surprise. Apparently, their production insurance didn’t cover for interns, so in other words I was let go after one day through no fault of my own. The AD thanked me for my help and said if they could keep me on they would. I don’t know if this is code for something, but he did sound sincere. I just find it odd that they would go through the trouble of bringing me on without checking their insurance. If I had gotten hurt on that first day who knows what could have happened.

School was already in session so I had to quickly refill paperwork and find another internship. But that is another story.

The only thing I would have done differently in this venture, is during that phone call from the AD, I would have asked him to bring me on as crew, to hire me. If he liked, my work then there should be no reason (other than money) why he couldn’t bring me on.

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

